Anyone Speak Elvish?

Everything J.R.R. Tolkien
Adoril Milner
No broom

Postby Adoril Milner » Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:25 pm

Elin sila lummen' omentielvo!

Anyone speak fluent Quenya or Sindarian? I am just learning Quenya and am interested if anyone else speaks it.

Prof. Zoki Phantom
Shooting Star

Postby Prof. Zoki Phantom » Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:08 am

I myself don't, though I always look upon learning new languages so I might check it out in near future if I have the time. But, I do believe Niniel had some knowledge of Quenya. Or at least I think so. :)
Last edited by Prof. Zoki Phantom on Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Niniel Sanders
Cleansweep One

Postby Niniel Sanders » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:06 pm

I do indeed know a thing or two. To say I speak it fluently would be exaggerating it though. First off there's not enough of a Quenya vocabulary that one can really be fluent as you always have to rewrite the sentences if you're not speaking about the same subjects they did in the silmarillion basically. And also the grammar is rather complicated and I still need to think about what I'm saying and check my grammar when I do it, but I can do that rather well.
I used to have a class on it, but it fell to the ground a bit for two reasons. One I was too busy during the second term and the class was really difficult (as learning languages always are) and it was hard to keep active students.

Adoril Milner
No broom

Postby Adoril Milner » Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:31 pm

That is really cool! I am trying to take the online course, but have only really finished the first three lessons. I find it to be a cool language, but it is hard. Where did you learn it?

Niniel Sanders
Cleansweep One

Postby Niniel Sanders » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:23 pm

I learned it from Helmut W. Pesch's book Elbisch. It has both Quenya and Sindarin in it, but I only ever tried Quemya. Ravariel I believe learned Sindarin from the same books.