How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

General HOL Discussions

Moderators: Headstudent, Prefect

User avatar
Cecilia Sykes
No broom
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:21 am
Contact:

Postby Cecilia Sykes » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:10 pm

Cecilia
Sa-See-Lee-A

Sykes
The Y makes a long I sound like in the word sigh.

I hope that was helpful :)
"All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them"
-Walt Disney

User avatar
Simelírië Tindómiel
No broom
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:44 pm
Contact:

Postby Simelírië Tindómiel » Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:28 am

My name is Simelírië Tindómiel.

It is pronounced like:

SI = as in See.
Me = as in May without the "y".
Lí = like Lee.
RI = as in RIng.
Ë = Like the "e" in Hey!.

-> SEE-MAy-LEE-REE-Ei.

TIN
= as in Teen.
DÓ = as in DOctor.
MI = as in Me.
EL = as in ELephant.

-> TEEN-DO-MEE-EL

It's really not as hard as it looks. :P
~*~
Image
"Even the smallest person can change the course of the future."
Simelírië Tindómiel ~ si958 ~ First Year ~ Slytherin

Leif Svennson
No broom
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:34 pm
Contact:

Postby Leif Svennson » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:36 am

My name is Ash Wiseth. The pronunciation of "Ash" is the same as for the word "ash" (a as in cat, then sh as in shore). The pronunciation of "Wiseth" is a bit less intuitive: "Vee-set" (but it still is not too bad, at least in my opinion :P ).

User avatar
Lorie Ellison
No broom
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:29 am
Contact:

Postby Lorie Ellison » Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:25 am

LO (lengthen the 'o' part a bit)
RIE (pronounce only the 'ri' part)
E (pronounced as 'eh')
LI (as in Lee)
SON (pronounce it like 'won')

should be easy enough :)
Image

Draco Dormiens Nunquam Titillandus

User avatar
Artemisia Delacroix
No broom
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Artemisia Delacroix » Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:57 am

Art-eh-MEE-zee-uh
DEH-lah-kraw

simple enough :)
-------------------
Image
GERONIMO!
Beans, Jake. Beans.
Click HERE for my HOL Profile!

User avatar
Nephele Faunus
No broom
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:51 pm
Location: Hufflepuff Common Room

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Nephele Faunus » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:57 am

{Nephele} = neh-FEH-lee

{Faunus} = FAWN-us (fawn rhymes with dawn)

But you can always call me Nellie!

Alexander Brighton
No broom
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 11:52 pm

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Alexander Brighton » Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:55 am

I think mine is pretty straight forward, not quite sure how to explain it.

Alexander- A (aaaa)
lex (same pronunciation as Lex Luther)
and (sounds like the word, and)
der (as in the word, cylinDER)
Put it together and it's Alexander.

Brighton- Bright (sounds like the word, bright)
On (sounds like the word on)
Put it together and it's Brighton.

Elphias Knightley
No broom
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:52 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Elphias Knightley » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:06 pm

People mispronouncing my name is no oddity, so I'll gladly explain:

Elphias = elf-eye-us
Knightley = night-lee

Elphias Knightley. Short, sweet, rolls off the tongue. My good friends and my family do tend to call me 'Elphie' to embarrass me, though. Feel free to call me what you wish!

Arlynn Cassidy
No broom
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:31 am

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Arlynn Cassidy » Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:56 am

I think my names pretty easy but here it is anyway.
Ar as in the letter or the pirate sound.
Lynn as in the name.
R Lynn
Cass as in the name.
I as in igwana.
And dy as in dee.
Cass I dee
All together its R lynn Cass I dee.

User avatar
Cliodna Levebre
No broom
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:25 am

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Cliodna Levebre » Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:01 pm

Mine is:

Cli : Klee (rhymes like Flee)
Od : oud (rhymes like Our)
Na : Na

Le : Lee
Veb : Veb (rhymes like Pet)
Re : Reh (rhymes like Meh)

Klee(y)oudna Leevebreh

User avatar
Arianna Stonewater
Silver Arrow
Posts: 472
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:56 pm

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Arianna Stonewater » Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:54 pm

Mine is pretty easy, but just in case:

Arianna
R-ee-ah-nah

Stonewater

Stown-wah-ter
Image

User avatar
Edythe Weasley
No broom
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:25 pm
Location: Room of Requirement

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Edythe Weasley » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:32 pm

My name is easy enough to pronounce.

Just think Edith (Ed - seed without the 's', and Ith- as spelled)

:D
Hufflepuff Pride <3

User avatar
Eleni Oresteia
No broom
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:13 pm

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Eleni Oresteia » Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:00 am

I'm not good at phonetics but...

Eh-leh-nee

Or-ehs-tee-uh

User avatar
Katya Snow
No broom
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:49 pm

Re: How Do You Pronounce Your Name?

Postby Katya Snow » Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:47 am

Kaa (like the snake from the jungle book)

Tea (like the drink! yum!)

Ya (sort of like Rah, or Hah, or, uhm. Aha?)

Snow (like that evil fluffy stuff that brings cold and colds and... why did i choose this to be my last name? i HATE winter!)
Image


Return to “The Great Hall”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest